5 years since school

• Creator
    Topic
    bwknight
    Participant

I graduated with my MACC in 2016. I found a job in school that has very nothing to do with accounting.

I’m looking to move to another position within the company. I still have access to Gleim from school.

I graduated with a 3.7 undergrad and a 3.5 as a grad student and I don’t remember anything. I was looking thru Gleim and the video mentioned effective interest rate and I thought about how I haven’t heard that term in years. I don’t remember the last time I balanced a balance sheet or what an income statement looks like.

I remember Assets = Liabilities plus Equity and that’s about it. I guess I’m exaggerating a little bit, but it’s how I feel when I try to recall.

Should I break out the old test books and start there? Or does review courses like Gleim (and supplementals like Ninja) help to re-learn things that haven’t been buried underneath other stuff like how many points Steph Curry has scored this season. (I know that lol).

Viewing 3 replies - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Replies
    CPA1219
    Participant

Older textbooks are helpful, but accounting standards are in a state of perpetual change, so some of the information would likely be outdated. If Financial Accounting and GAAP is where you want to brush up, I'd recommend buying/renting a current Intermediate Accounting Textbook. The info in an intermediate book is comprehensive and walks you through the conceptual framework, financial statements, recording of financial information, all the way to other complex accounting and reporting topics. Another option is purchasing a subscription to an Intermediate Accounting program via Coursera and going through the lectures. Principals of accounting books/lectures could be helpful, but would probably do you a disservice since you actually took the time to obtain a MAcc. You spent a lot of money on the education, so you should definitely re-acquire it.